A Jira board is a section where issues from various projects are organized in columns that represent a team’s workflow. Everyone can see the entire project on the board, including current and finished work. Any board that is attached to a project can be deleted.
A board shows issues from one or more projects, allowing you to keep track of, monitor, and report on a current project.
Jira supports both Scrum and Kanban board styles. Both boards have their own set of benefits, and when used in a project, they both use an agile method. Using iterative cycles known as sprints, a scrum board tracks and completes projects in real-time. Kanban boards are primarily concerned with the project backlog and project reporting.
Individuals and corporate teams can use Jira to improve their projects or manage constant and gradual production cycles by creating and utilizing boards. These boards are adjustable and versatile, allowing users to complete tasks more efficiently and boosting the flow of information.
How to Delete a Board in Jira
A board can be deleted in two ways:
- Removing the Jira board from the project dashboard
- Removing the Jira board from the homepage
Delete Jira Board from the Project Dashboard
1.First, select View all projects from the menu list when you click on Projects.
2. Next, on the screen, a list of boards appears. Next to the board, you want to delete, click the ellipsis button.
3. After that, from the dropdown menu, select the Move to Trash option.
4. Then, if a warning message appears, accept it by clicking the Move button.
5. Finally, the project’s board has been removed.
Delete Jira Board from the Home Page
1. First, select ‘Your works’ from the menu.
2. Next, select View All Boards from the Boards drop-down menu.
3. After that, there will be a list of boards displayed. Next to the board, you want to delete, click the ellipsis button.
4. Furthermore, from the dropdown menu, select the Move to Trash option.
5. Following that, if a warning notice appears, accept it by clicking the Move button.
6. Then, the board will be removed successfully. A notification ‘Project successfully moved to trash’ will appear on the screen.
You can delete a board without removing the cards themselves. Also, when you delete a board from a project, the issues and sprint cycles linked with it don’t disappear. This is because the issues and sprint cycles are part of the project, not the project dashboard.