Slack is a fun way to stay in touch with colleagues, but sometimes you might need a break or have been transferred from one department to another and no longer need to be on your previous channel. You can leave any Slack channel you feel you don’t need again or need a break.
Note, leaving a Slack channel will notify everyone that you have left the channel and you won’t be able to view its messages and files again. The only channel you cannot leave is the slack channel created for all your workspace members called #general.
Keep reading to learn more…
How to leave a Slack Channel
Want to leave a Slack channel you no longer wish to be a part of? Here’s how you can do it.
- First, launch Slack on your computer (web or desktop app) and sign in to your workspace. These will take you to your default channel, the #general channel.
- Next, go to the Channel that you want to leave. You can select your channel from the sidebar menu.
- After that, click the channel’s name on the top of the conversation header. This will open a small menu of channel options.
- Following that, click on the Leave channel. This will remove you from the active channel.
You Might Also Like to Read: How to Send GIFs in Slack
Finally, note that leaving a channel does not affect your other slack channel, but leaving a slack channel wipes off all its messages and files from the search result.
Now that you know how to leave a channel on Slack you can remove yourself from channels you no longer need on your workspace and focus on active channels with other members.