How to Make a Slack Channel Private

How to Make a Slack Channel Private

There are two types of channels in Slack: public and private. Channels are public by default, but they can be made private at any moment once created. Once a channel is private, you can’t make it public.

Confidentiality is the primary reason why organizations use private Slack channels. A good example would be a private Slack channel for organization Executives and Team Leads to discuss critical issues. Also, You have to be the channel owner or an administrator to make a Slack Channel Private.

Note that new members can’t join a public channel that has been changed to a private channel; they would have to be invited by an admin or the channel owner.

Read More: How to Send GIFs in Slack

How to Make a Slack Channel Private 

You can only convert channels on the Slack desktop and web app. There’s no option to do so on your mobile app. This guide will show you how to make a Slack channel private step by step.

  1. First, open the Slack web or desktop app and sign in to your account.
Source: Slack

2. Next, select the channel you want to make private from the left sidebar.

Source: Slack

3. After that, click the channel’s name on the header to open the channel details.

Source: Slack

4. Following that, navigate to the settings section.

Source: Slack

5. Next, click on “Change to a private channel.”

Source: Slack

6. Finally, confirm to change the channel to a private channel.

Source: Slack

Note: You can’t make the #general channel a private one.

You Might Also Like to Read: How to Leave a Slack Workspace: A Step-by-Step Guide

Wrap Up

Only the members of a private channel can search messages or files delivered to it. However, files shared before converting a channel will not become private.

One major advantage of converting some of your public channels to private ones, you can host discussions and brainstorming sessions with admins and team leaders before sharing them with the rest of the members.

Setting a Slack channel to private means that users can only see or join it by invitation. By following the steps in this guide you can change a channel to private in less than a minute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *